The future of Weekly OverVue

Hey folks!

As you've probably noticed, another week's passed, but the vue3-boardgame Tic Tac Toe tutorial article is yet to be properly published...

I could've easily blamed it on me being busy with a load of schoolwork and simply put off every article by another week... but it wouldn't have solved the problem, only postponed it if anything. It's a clear signal that the strategy I've initially adopted doesn't work too well, so in this issue I'd like to outline what's next for this project.

SPOILER ALERT: it's not getting cancelled!

I genuinely like the idea of showcasing community Vue/Nuxt components in small and close-to-real-life demos, which could serve as a foundation for a proper full-stack app. I can definitely say the same about writing up the whole development process, laying out all the specs and explaining some of the less-obvious Vue/TS tricks I've opted to use and why...

But here's where we get to the actual problem. I'd realised it was incredibly difficult for me to keep up with the weekly release schedule, while also doing all the schoolwork, preparing for different kinds of tests, and so on...

Therefore, I've made a decision to revamp my content delivery strategy. From now on, up to 2 tutorial articles will be released each month. Every new demo, though, will get a dedicated newsletter issue straight after release. These will cover the showcased community component, a brief description of the app, as well as a list of features you could (and totally should) try implementing yourself.

This approach, however, makes the whole project name irrelevant, since it's no longer based on content delivered consistently each 7 days. With that in mind, I came up with a brand new name: PreVue Land. I'm confident it makes for a significantly better description of the initiative, given the new formula.

But what about the weeklyovervue.com domain name? Are you going to hold on to it? The answer is - no, at least not for too long, since I'll have to migrate everything over to prevueland.com, change all the references, emails, and such...

I do, however, own a bunch of other unused domain names on NameCheap I'd like to sell via the Marketplace, with the entire profit going straight to the Ukrainian Red Cross. After all, I don't have to explain the dire situation my eastern neighbours are currently in, and by donating all the domain name sale money, I could genuinely contribute to improving many innocent lives.

The domain names in question are:

They will be listed for 15 days, so grab them while you still can! And as always, thank you so much reading in, and I'll see you in the first PreVue Land issue.

Take care!

Mac